Sous le Ciel de Paris

Paris is something else. Even saying the word “Paris” makes me feel all warm and tingly inside. The first time I stepped out of the plane in Paris I turned to my mom and told her that one day I’m going to move there. Here I am, several years later and actually making plans to make that dream come true.

We all have that one place in the world where we just keep going back to. A place that’s pulling you towards itself a bit more than other places. For me that’s Paris. I can’t help but feel a rush of excitement when I think about the streets of Paris, the tiny corner cafes, the architecture, the language – oh, the language. And let’s not forget about the people. They all look so chic and put together that you really want to be the best version of yourself you can be.

After Ibiza I flew to Paris. It was time for me to explore the city. This time alone and without my family.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Last views of Ibiza

About an hour after landing I was already at the Porte Maillot station meeting the woman whose house I was staying at. After settling in I went to explore the city. It was raining the whole day but no one seemed to be bothered about it, if anything, the rain seemed to make the city even prettier.

Right after coming out of the Argentine metro stop I saw the Arc de Trimphe, my all time favorite landmarks in Paris. Located in the centre of Place Charles de Gaulle and at the end of Champs-Élysées it’s pretty hard to miss.

Since I saw which way the Eiffel tower was I thought It would be a great idea to walk there instead of taking the metro. Kinda got lost for a moment but the Eiffel is also something that is pretty hard to miss so after a moment I was back on track.

Right after seeing the Eiffel I somehow found my way back to the Champs-Élysées and decided to take the metro to the Louvre since I knew that area pretty well. The metro stations in Paris are unreal! Some of them are kinda sketchy, like the number 6 line that goes to the Eiffel. And then there are the ones like Louvre Rivoli where it looks like you’re in a museum, you can see statues and stuff. It seems weird to put statues in a metro stop but it’s Paris so it works.

Since I had been to Louvre before-and I had hated every minute of it-I decided to stroll the neighborhood instead. I once googled Louvre and it came out that it has 14.5 km of rooms and corridors and it ruined it for me. Also the hordes of tourists trying to take a selfie with the tiny Mona Lisa painting was the last straw for me.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

I decided to make my way towards the Cathedral of Notre-Dame. It was a gorgeous walk along the Seine with all those tiny souvenir stalls and creperies. The Notre-Dame and the area around was absolutely gorgeous. The cathedral itself was massive and really loud once the bells started ringing.

Right in front of the Notre-Dame is the kilometre zero/Point zero, a small circle that is hard to find(I should know, I went to the Notre-Dame three days straight before I could find it). It’s the point that all distances in France are measured from and it’s also the official centre of Paris. It is also said that if you step on the kilometre/point zero and make a wish then not only does the wish come true but you will also return to Paris.

Centre Georges Pompidou was my next stop and it is one of the places you must visit while in Paris. It’s the largest museum for modern art in Europe and if you’re not into modern art(some things in there are pretty weird) then it also has a great view over the city(It also has amazing free wifi).

In the evening I even went to see the Eiffel tower sparkle, one of the prettiest things to see. It sparkled for 5 minutes and I don’t think I even blinked the whole time, I just admired it.

The next day I went back to the Louvre area but this time to see the Jardin des Tuileries and the Water lilies by Monet in the Musee de l’Orangerie. The water lilies series by Monet have been some of my favorite art pieces for years and seeing then in person was unreal!

After seeing Monet’s  and even some of Picasso’s work I decided to walk around the city some more and ended up at the Notre-Dame area again.

A couple of days later a friend of mine joined me in Paris and I showed her around the city. We went back to the places I had already been before and I told her what I had seen and learned about the city. We even had a picnic under the Eiffel tower-a dream of mine.

By far the best view of Paris is from the Arc de Triomphe, nothing competes with that 360 degree view.

On our last night in Paris we just strolled around the city and had another picnic under the Eiffel. It was the perfect ending for my stay in Paris.

The next morning my friend went back to Estonia and I made my way towards Amsterdam, but more about that in the next post.

 

 

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. This is so pretty Agnes! I love seeing the world through your eyes and words–it’s beauiful! I’m excited to see what’s in stock 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh the memories! Thank you for giving me the chance to relive the trip, also, thank you for being the amazing tour guide and tolerating my inability to notice things, buildings and people around me hehe 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

