A love letter for London

By now I’ve been in London for about 6 and a half months. 6 and a half months of trying to make it on my own.  6 and a half months of pretending I’m enough of a grown up to live on my own in a city that’s thousands of miles away from home. It’s no lie that it has been hard. But if there is a city that’s worth all the hard work, it’s London.

I can’t tell you how many days I’ve been on the verge of a mental breakdown because life just keeps throwing stuff at me but then the next day I see how the sun shines and all the people are out in the park having picnics or playing with their dogs and everyone is smiling. Everyone. That makes life a little easier. If there is one thing you should know about London it’s the fact that the sun makes everyone happy here.

There is a feeling of unity in London. Everyone knows how hard it is to “make it” in London. Starting from the endless deposits that the landlords ask you or the impossibility of finding a job that you actually enjoy to trying to pay rent while still focusing on the main reason you actually moved to London.

The past 6 months have been the hardest of my life. I have been working 5-6 days a week with just one day off in the middle. I have been so exhausted that I haven’t been doing any art – the whole reason I moved to London was to improve my art and find a career doing it. I know I have been extremely lucky to get the job I have now, I wouldn’t change my coworkers for anything, I love them to death but the fact that I have kind of been losing myself in work is making it hard for me to enjoy London.

Right now I’m yet on another quest of finding a job that pays more so I could work less and at the same time – work more. But to be completely honest – after 6 months of hard work, I can finally say that my life is in London. I have officially made my room livable. I have officially lived away from home for over 6 months. I have officially managed to pay rent on my own. I have officially grown up.

Even though living in London is a tough thing to do, I wouldn’t change it for anything. I would recommend everyone to leave home for a bit. Especially if you have just finished high school and don’t know what to do with yourself. You will find yourself in the process. London is my home now and I can’t wait what future has in store for me.

Leave a Reply

